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Traffic Safety Facts
Laws

High-BAC Laws
Background
NHTSA encourages States to enact 
enhanced sanctions for drivers 
with a blood alcohol concentration 
(BAC) of .15 grams per deciliter 
(g/dL) or greater. The rationale for 
high BAC sanctioning systems is 
that driving while intoxicated (DWI) 
offenders with higher BACs are 
more likely than DWI offenders 
with lower BACs to be involved in 
a crash. A driver with a BAC of .15 
g/dL or greater is at least 20 times 
more likely to be involved in a fatal 
crash than a sober driver. During an 
average weekend night, about one 
percent of drivers have BACs of .15 
or greater and about two-thirds of 
fatally injured drinking drivers have 
BACs of .15 or greater. Enhanced 
penalties for first-time high-BAC 
offenders should be comparable to 
those applied to repeat offenders. 

Key Facts
■	 In-patient rehabilitation costs for 

motor vehicle injuries average 
$11,265 per patient and $13,200 
per patient for motorcycle 
injuries.

■	 For 2005, the most frequently 
recorded BAC level among 
drinking drivers involved in fatal 
crashes was .17 g/dL.

■	 In 2005, there were 16,885 
alcohol-related fatalities in motor 
vehicle crashes.

■	 In 2005, 39 percent of fatal motor 
vehicle crashes nationwide were 
alcohol-related.

■	 In 2005, 60 percent of all alcohol-
related fatalities involved a driver 
with a BAC of .15 or higher.

■	 It is estimated that half of all 
drivers arrested and half of those 
convicted of DWI have BACs of 
.15 or above.

■	 To date, 40 States have enacted 
high-BAC laws. Alabama, 
Kansas, Maryland, Michigan, 
Mississippi, New Jersey, Oregon, 
Vermont, West Virginia, and 
Wyoming do not have enhanced 
sanctions for high BAC offenders.

■	 The adopted high-BAC levels 
vary from State to State, from .15 
to .20.

■	 A variety of organizations, includ-
ing Mothers Against Drunk Driv-
ing, the National Transportation 
Safety Board and the Century 
Council (which is supported by 
the Nation's leading distillers) 
actively support strategies to ad-
dress high-risk drivers, including 
drivers with high BACs of .15 or 
greater.

■	 Enhanced penalties contained 
in State laws also vary, and may 
include increased driver license 
sanctions, vehicle or license 
plate impoundment or immobi-
lization, mandatory assessment 
and treatment, close supervi-
sion, use of ignition interlock 
devices, fines, and fees, and im-
prisonment or home detention 
(with electronic monitoring).

Incentive Grant Program
In 2005, Congress enacted the 
Safe, Accountable, Flexible, Efficient 
Transportation Equity Act: A Legacy 
for Users (SAFETEA-LU). Section 
2007 of SAFETEA-LU amends the 
alcohol-impaired driving counter-
measures incentive grant program 
(under Section 410 of chapter 4 
of Title 23) to encourage States 
to adopt and implement effective 
programs to reduce traffic safety 
problems resulting from individuals 
driving while impaired by alcohol, 
including a program for high-risk 
drivers with BACs of .15 or greater. 
A qualifying State may use these 
grant funds to implement impaired 
driving activities in accordance with 
the Federal statute. 

The High-Risk Drivers provision 
of Section 410, as revised by 
SAFETEA-LU, provides that high-
risk driver laws must include 
stronger sanctions or additional 



Reports and additional 
information are available 
from your State Highway 
Safety Office, the NHTSA 
Regional Office serving your 
State, NHTSA Headquarters, 
Impaired Driving and 
Occupant Protection Office, 
ATTN: NTI-111, 400 Seventh  
Street SW., Washington,  
DC 20590; 202-366-2683;  
or NHTSA’s Web site at 
www.nhtsa.gov

penalties for individuals who, in any 
five-year period after June 9, 1998, 
are convicted of DWI with a BAC 
of .15 or more, than for individuals 
convicted of the same offense 
but with a lower BAC. SAFETEA-
LU provides that these additional 
penalties must include:

■	 a one-year suspension of license, 
provided that after 45 days a 
provisional license may be issued 
so the offender can drive to and 
from employment, school, an 
alcohol treatment program, or an 
interlock service facility and only 
in a vehicle equipped with an 
ignition interlock; and

■	 a mandatory assessment by 
a certified substance abuse 
official with possible referral to 
counseling if appropriate.

The statutory provisions of the 
Section 410 program have been 
implemented by a NHTSA regulation 
in 23 CFR Part 1313.
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